Saturday December 10 , 2016
Font Size

About CMP

Who we are

inset-tubaclassThe California Music Project (CMP) is a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation that provides services designed to increase the number of quality music educators in California's public schools and deliver music education to students, particularly those in urban neighborhoods who have limited access. While being led operationally by educators, we are governed by a combination of education and business leadership. This model enables us to set the right priorities with the right governance practices, and practice responsible stewardship with the funding we receive.

We believe that music education, taught in our public schools by highly effective teachers, creates and sustains the development of stronger students, schools, and communities in California. With this in mind, we developed the California Music Project Fellowship Program, an innovative, educational partnership with university music departments and local school districts, to successfully address both the development of future teachers and the current need for music education in schools.


Our Leadership

The California Music Project has attracted the generous support of a distinguished Board and Advisory Board representing the best in California music, education, arts, business and personal integrity. Thank you for your energy, counsel and continued support.

Board Members
Board Member Affiliation
Barbara J. George, Former Chair Former Chair,
California Arts Council
San Francisco, CA
Phyllis Epstein, Former Co-Chair Former Vice Chair
California Arts Council
La Jolla, CA
Leigh White Attorney
Atherton, CA
Donna Conaty, PhD Director, School of Music and Dance
San Diego State University
San Diego, CA
Michael Fahn Fahn & Company
Sacramento, CA
Dr. Diana Hollinger CMP Site Administrator
Professor of Music
San Jose State University
Russ Sperling CMP Site Administrator
Director of Visual and Performing Arts,
Sweetwater Union High School District


Kate Fitzsimmons


Honorary Board Members
Herb Alpert
Jerry Brown & Anne Gust Governor, State of California
Kathleen Brown
Senior Advisor, Goldman Sachs
Nancy Bechtle
Former President San Francisco Symphony
Dave Brubeck Musician
Bruce Chizen
CEO, Adobe Labs
Hal & Eunice David
Lyricist and Philanthropist
Gray & Sharon Davis
Former Governor, State of California
William Friedkin & Sherry Lansing
Film Director & Entertainment Executive
Pete & Gale Wilson
Former Governor, State of California


Advisory Board
Advisory Board Member Affiliation
Dr. Edward C. Harris Director, School of Music & Dance SJSU
Joe Lamond CEO, NAMM
Don Passman Entertainment Attorney, Gang, Tyre, Ramer & Brown
Los Angeles
Richard Foos CEO, shout!Factory
Los Angeles
Debra Hughes President, Crystal Ball Entertainment
Former President, NABFEME LA Region
Los Angeles
Dr. Jerry Hiura Artist and Dentist with Hiura & Hiura, Inc.
Past Chair, Arts Council Silicon Valley
Los Gatos
Leslie Miller Dewey Square Group
San Francisco
Muffie Meier Principal, Public Affair
San Francisco
Ann McCrow Director of Development, Arts University of California – Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz
Ann Miller Attorney, Nixon Peabody
San Francisco
Hayley Sumner President, Sumner Management Group and Strategic Counseling
Los Angeles
Tor Hyams

President, HyLo Entertainment
Producer of children’s music projects
Los Angeles


California Arts Council Liaison Affiliation
Kristin Margolis
Arts Program Specialist
California Arts Council